About Geographic Unions

Effective with the opening of the 2011-2012 Competitive Season, the USA Rugby Board named four Geographic Unions (GUs) as part of a pilot program to review a new streamlined union structure to support anticipated growth in the game and to provide increased member services in the local areas.

Geographic Unions (larger than typical Local Area Unions and smaller than current Territorial Unions) are defined based upon a combination of club density in an area and natural geographical boundaries. A GU may be a single state, multiple states, or parts of a large state.

The templates for GU organizational structure, financial models and bylaws were developed over a two-year period by a committee commissioned by former CEO Nigel Melville to research the best models from existing LAUs and TUs, other rugby-playing nations, and other national governing bodies (NGBs).

At the January 2013 USA Rugby Congress meeting it was approved that the GU structure would no longer be considered a pilot program and would be fully adopted as the local governance model for Club Rugby moving forward.

The TU/LAU Review Committee is made up of members from around the country: John Coppinger (Pacific); George Durocher (Mid-Atlantic); Martin Gardner (South); Jeremiah Johnson (Midwest); Danita Knox (South/Committee Chair); Bill Middleton (USAR Board of Directors); Joe Olzaki (New England); Bill Sexton (West); Steve Vent (Southern California).

Geographic Unions (GUs)

UnionPresidentContact
CapitalMatthew Robinettematthewrobinette55@gmail.com
CarolinasTed Hardyclaytonrfc@gmail.com
Eastern PennsylvaniaMike Besiomikebesio@gmail.com
EmpireKen Papeken@monmouthrugbyclub.com
FloridaKerri O’Malleykerri.a.omalley@gmail.com
Mid-AmericaSean Coxscotchcox@yahoo.com
Midwest (TU)Al Lucasalbertlucasv@hotmail.com
New EnglandLori Staplespresident@nerfu.org
Northern CaliforniaRick Hummrickhumm@gmail.com
Pacific NorthwestMatthew Lobematthew.lobe@gmail.com
Rocky MountainErik Geiberik.v.geib@gmail.com
Southern CaliforniaGeno Mazzapresident@scrfu.org
Southwest (Arizona & Rio Grande)Pieter Hugotherugbyone@yahoo.com
TexasKirk Tatepresident@texasrugbyunion.com
True SouthPeter Steynpetersteyn@msn.com

Local Area Unions (LAUs), & Associate Unions (AUs)

UnionPresidentContact
Alaska – Associate UnionDavid Delozierdelozierd@yahoo.com
Utah – Associate UnionKen Riveraken.rivera@rugbyutah.com
Hawaii – Associate UnionTapu Tupou77northstar@gmail.com
Georgia – Associate UnionMinchul Chominchul.cho@gmail.com
Organizations within the MidwestAl Lucasalbertlucasv@hotmail.com
Allegheny LAU (Midwest)David Ballarottodavid.ballarotto@verizon.net
Chicago Area LAU (Midwest)Lou Raymondlou@woodsmenrugby.com
Illinois LAU (Midwest)Shawn McKinneyMTRNews@gmail.com
Indiana LAU (Midwest)Clarissa Harrischarrispresirfu@gmail.com
Iowa LAU (Midwest)Nick Hereennheeren@gmail.com
Michigan LAU (Midwest)Jeremy Manteimantei.jeremy@gmail.com
Minnesota LAU (Midwest)Becky Reynoldsbeckyrenea@gmail.com
Ohio LAU (Midwest)Brendan O’Connorbto@oconnorbros.com
Wisconsin LAU (Midwest)Todd Prochniakpresident@wisconsinrfu.org
USA Club Rugby Map - Unions and CRs (1)

*Implies a union is still an LAU or AU, and not a GU; The Midwest is also still a Territorial Union

Regions without GU/TU designation are targeted for GU implementation as quickly as is feasible.


Applying to Become a Geographic Union

USA Rugby is pleased to announce the opportunity to submit an application to become a Geographic Union (GU). At this time, you may submit an application to form a GU.

Submitting an application does not cause recognition of GU. The Geographic Union Committee will thoroughly review each application to help in the formation of viable GUs.

Geographic Union Resources

More Information About Geographic Unions

For more information about GU’s or if you have further questions please direct them to Kurt Weaver.

GU ADMIN