All-Americans Named for NZ Unis Series Opener

For Immediate Release

July 8, 2011




SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The 22 Men's Collegiate All-Americans set to suit up against the New Zealand Universities Touring side on Saturday have been named.  The game will kick off on Saturday July 9, 2011 at 3 p.m. at The Little Q, the home of Old Mission Bay Athletic Club (OMBAC).


The All-Americans have been in camp this week at the Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. to prepare for the Series. 


In addition to rugby-specific skill work and training, the All-Americans visited a Navy training center in the area and took part in a workout used by the elite operations force, the Navy SEALS.

The All-Americans will play two more matches after Saturday's fixture.  The last two matches will take place on July 13 at Harder Stadium in Santa Barbara, Calif. and Steuber Rugby Stadium in Stanford on July 16.


Men's Collegiate All-Americans

15 Blaine Scully (University of California - Berkeley)

14 Peter Tiberio (University of Arizona)

13 Duncan Kelm (San Diego State)

12 Gareth Jones (Temple University)

11 Dustin Muhn (University of California - Berkeley)

10 JP Eloff (Davenport University)

9 Chris Saint (Penn State)

1 Mike Su'a (BYU)

2 Zach Fenoglio (Loyola Marymount)

3 James Besser (University of California - Berkeley)

4 Chris Parker (Texas A&M)

5 Nate Brakeley (Dartmouth)

6 Garrett Lambert (Life University)

7 Derek Asbun (University of California - Berkeley)

8 Ryan Roundy (BYU)


16 Matt Crawford (St. Mary's College of California)

17 Andy Cooke (St. Mary's College of California)

18 Ray Forrester (BYU)

19 Mark Bonham (BYU)

20 Cam Dolan (Life University)

21 Pat Sullivan (Arkansas State)

22 Kyle Grossheider (Life University)

23 Benji Goff (University of Tennessee)



July 9: Little Q (Old Mission Bay Athletic Club) | 3 p.m.

July 13: Harder Stadium (UC- Santa Barbara) | 6:30 p.m.

July 16: Steuber Rugby Stadium (Stanford University) | 1 p.m.



Further Information:

Jarrod Beckstrom | Communications Manager | USA Rugby | | +1.303.539.0300, ext. 124

Follow USA Rugby on Facebook and Twitter (@usaeaglesrugby)

Proud Partners of USA Rugby

About USA Rugby
Founded in 1975, USA Rugby is an official member of the United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and the International Rugby Board (IRB).

The organization has approximately 90,000 members and is responsible for the development of the boys, girls, high school, collegiate and club rugby programs, and ultimately all of the national teams representing the U.S. in international competitions.

The current structure of USA Rugby comprises seven Territorial Unions (TU) and 34 Local Area Unions (LAU) that compete for regional and National Championships.

USA Rugby's national headquarters is located in Boulder, Colo., and is run by full-time staff under the direction of current CEO and President of Rugby Operations Nigel Melville.