Teams Set for Club 7s National Championships

2011 Club 7s Championship Teams Announced


The 2011 Emirates Airline USA Rugby Men's and Women's Club 7s Championship will be held this weekend August 6-7 at Sheeran Field, on Treasure Island in San Francisco, CA.


The field of 26 teams is composed of 16 Men's and 10 Women's teams from across the nation, each of them qualifying for the National Championship through their respective regional championships. 


The matches featured on August 6th will be pool play among the four four-team pools on the Men's bracket and the two five-team pools on the women's side with the knockout rounds to be played the following day.


The Utah Warriors hold the Men's tournament overall number one seed.  The start-up club is playing its first summer of sevens and has been quite impressive, defeating San Francisco Golden Gate in the Pacific Coast Sevens Championships last month.  Also included in the field for the men are several clubs that have become mainstays in this annual competition including the Denver Barbarians and 2006 Champion OMBAC as well as some new faces in the Marist Hawaii Rugby Club among others.


The Women's competition sees two clubs whose men's team counterparts will also be in the tournament in the Glendale Raptors and Belmont Shore as well as some of the traditional Women's powerhouse teams in the Washington DC Furies and the Berkeley All Blues.


Matches will be webcast live at the USA Rugby UStream channel with the first broadcast match kicking off at 9am local time. Scores will be updated on Mobile Score and can be viewed at or Facebook.


Men's Club 7s Championship

Utah Warriors (Pacific #1)

Glendale Raptors (West #3)

SFGG (Pacific #2)

Chicago Lions (Midwest #1)

Schuylkill River Exiles (Mid Atlantic #1)

OMBAC (SoCal #2)

Eastside Banshees-YoungBloodz (Midwest #2)

Denver Barbarians (West #2)

The Woodland's Exiles (West #1)

Pittsburgh Harlequins (Mid Atlantic #2)

Middlesex (Northeast #2)

Atlanta Old White (South #1)

New Orleans (South #2)

Boston (Northeast #1)

Marist Hawaii Rugby Club (Hawaii #1)

Belmont Shore (SoCal #1)



Women's Club 7s Championship



DC Furies

San Diego Surfers

Belmont Shore


Seattle Breakers

Atlanta Harlequins

Glendale Lady Raptors

Boston Belles