Women’s Teams Named for College Sevens

For Immediate Release
November 23, 2011
Twelve of Nation's Best College Women's Teams to Compete for Sevens Championship
Boulder, Colo.-- The 12 teams that will take part in the inaugural USA Rugby Women's College Sevens National Championship have been determined. The teams will gather in College Station, Texas from December 16-17, 2011 to battle for the first-ever women's college sevens title.
The teams will be divided into four pools.  Pools will be announced on Wednesday November 30, 2011. 
The tournament will serve as an opportunity for the 144 student-athletes to showcase their skills for All-American and National Team selectors who will have an eye on the talent coming through the college ranks.
With the inclusion of rugby sevens in the Olympics, many of the student-athletes who will compete in the tournament will have the opportunity to become Olympians in rugby in 2016.
The following women's teams will compete for the National Championship: 
Arizona State
Boston College
New Mexico
Oregon State
Santa Clara


Further Information:

Jarrod Beckstrom | Communications Manager | USA Rugby | jbeckstrom@usarugby.org