JAAs named for Chile clash

For Immediate Release
June 21, 2012
Junior All-Americans named to face gritty Chile team on second day of JWRT
SALT LAKE CITY, Utah - After a thrilling win over a very talented Tonga U20s side on the opening day of the IRB Junior World Rugby Trophy Monday, the USA Junior All-Americans have set their sights on their next opponent, Chile.
That game will kickoff at 6 p.m. MDT tomorrow (Friday June 22, 2012) at Murray Rugby Park in Murray, Utah.  Tickets are $5 at the gate.  The game will be stream live online at ksl.com and deseretnews.com.
USA Head Coach, Scott Lawrence, has made four changes to the team he named in the opener as Auckland University's Henry Hall, Cal's Nick Boyer, Central Washington's Aladdin Schirmer, and Glendale's Iniki Fa'amausili make the starting 15.
The front row that performed so well against Tonga sees one change as Hall gets the nod.  The front row will have their hands full with their very big and scrappy Chilean counterparts.  The American loose forwards will also be tested by Chile, but proved against Tonga that they are up to the challenge.
Captain Will Magie will once again lead the side at flyhalf and has been working well with his centers.  Workhorse Tanner Barnes and flyer Tua Laei will look to attack midfield and put Chile under pressure.
The star of the day in the opener, Madison Hughes, who led the way with a try and four penalties, gets the start at fullback and his wings are Kingsley McGowan and Fa'amausili.  McGowan was a danger man and Fa'amausili is no slouch himself.  Both of those players and crack a defense wide open if given the space.
As for the opposition, Magie's opposite number, Jose Tomas Baraona, had a strong game against Russia in Chile's opener proving he was lethal with the boot.  The difference in Chile's win was the forwards, so if the USA can muscle up and contain the Chilean pack, it could well disrupt Baraona and his backs.
USA Junior All-Americans v. Chile | JWRT 2012 - Game 2
15 Madison Hughes (Dartmouth)
14 Kingsley McGowan (St. Mary's College of California)
13 Tanner Barnes (Central Washington)
12 Tua Laei (BYU)
11 Iniki Fa'amausili (Glendale Raptors)
10 Will Magie (Leeds University)
9 Nick Boyer (Cal)
1 Travis Whitlock (Back Bay)
2 Cameron Falcon (Louisiana State)
3 Henry Hall (Auckland University)
4 Nick Barrett (Spearhead Academy)
5 Pierce Dargan (Trinity College)
6 Aladdin Schirmer (Central Washington)
7 Alex Goff (Arkansas State)
8 Tim O'Hara (Santa Clara)
16 Angus MacClellan (Davenport)
17 Mike Te'o (Belmont Shore)
18 Teli Veamatahau (Metropolis)
19 Glen Thommes (Delaware)
20 Alex Taefu (Tempe)
21 Eakalafi Okuisi (Cal)
22 Pasefika Iosia (Belmont Shore)