USA squad named for Italy clash

HOUSTON, Texas - USA Eagles Head Coach Mike Tolkin has named his squad that will take on Italy this Saturday at BBVA Compass Stadium at 7:30 pm.

The squad remains largely unchanged from the team that beat Georgia 36-20 just one week ago in Colorado.

The only change to the starting lineup is in the wings, where James Paterson and Luke Hume swap positions. Paterson will start at 14 on the right wing, and Hume will start at 11 on the left wing. Both started last week, but in opposite positions.

Former USA Rugby sevens captain, and San Francisco Golden Gate stalwart Mose Timoteo comes into the squad as the reserve scrumhalf. Timoteo brings a wealth of experience to the team having earned his first cap in 2000, and has 27 caps to his name.

Other roster highlights include Taylor Mokate, who returns to the starting lineup after scoring a try in his first start for the Eagles last week.

Andrew Suniula was outstanding last week against Georgia as well, scoring a try and making big gains and line breaks all evening long. He returns to the lineup at Inside Center.

Todd Clever returns to Captain the Squad from the #8 position.

Kickoff for the match is set for 7:30 pm CDT at BBVA Compass Stadium.

Tickets to the big game are selling fast! This is expected to be the BIGGEST rugby event ever held on American Soil! Don't miss your chance be a part of the action, to get your tickets, go HERE.

Can't make it to Houston? You can watch all the action LIVE on Universal Sports and

If you still don't get Universal Sports, and switching to DIRECTV or DISH is not an option, keep the pressure on your TV provider and demand it!  Call 1-800-55-GET-US and then click HERE ( and tell all of your sports fan friends to do it, too.  Remember, Universal Sports Network is not NBC Sports Network (formerly Versus).


USA Roster

15 Chris Wyles (Saracens)

14 James Paterson (Glendale Raptors)

13 Paul Emerick (London Wasps)

12 Andrew Suniula (Cornish Pirates)

11 Luke Hume (Old Blue)

10 Roland Suniula (Chicago Griffins)

9 Mike Petri (NYAC)

1 Shawn Pittman (London Welsh)

2 Chris Biller (Northampton Saints)

3 Eric Fry (Wellington Old Boys RFC)

4 Louis Stanfill (NYAC)

5 Brian Doyle (NYAC)

6 Taylor Mokate (Wellington Old Boys RFC)

7 Scott Lavalla (Stade Francais)

8 Todd Clever* (NTT Shining Arcs)



16 Derek Asbun (Oxford University - England)

17 Mike MacDonald (At Large)

18 Tolifili (Andre) Liufau (l'Uson Rugby)

19 Andrew Durutalo (USA Rugby Sevens/Old Puget Sound Beach)

20 Mose Timoteo (SFGG)

21 Will Holder (Army)

22 Colin Hawley (USA Rugby Sevens)


Referee: Jerome Graces (France)

Assistant Referees: Derek Stoltz (Canada), Marc Nelson (USA)

TMO: Davey Ardrey (USA)


Stadium: BBVA Compass Stadium - Houston, Texas