Women’s Eagles Sevens Squad Departs for Dubai 7s

CHULA VISTA, Calif. – The USA Women's Eagle Sevens depart today for Dubai, the first stop in the IRB Women's Sevens World Series. Head Coach Ric Suggitt has selected 12 women to compete in this inaugural series, which kicks off Nov. 30, 2012.

Some changes have been made to the team since the team's win at the Women's International 7s Invitational in Guangzhou, China (October 27-28), most notably the return of Vanesha McGee from injury, who will be taking over the role of captain from Deven Owsiany.

"Deven Owsiany has done an excellent job at getting the team to where it is at this stage. The current attitude and work ethic of this team has been amazing, and Deven is responsible for the formation of the squad," said Suggitt.

Contracted players Kimber Rozier and Kaelene Lundstrum will be absent as they are on tour with the Eagles 15s in Europe, but filling out the roster will be Emilie Bydwell, Victoria Folayan, Christina Mastrangelo and Lauren Doyle.

Seasoned sevens athletes Christy Ringgenberg and Nathalie Marchino will be traveling for their second tour with the Eagles since becoming contracted players in September and October of this year, respectively.

The remaining contracted athletes, Bui Baravilala, Jill Potter, Katie Dowty, Kelly Griffin and Owsiany, provide the core of the team with months of training together under their belt.

"We have assembled a squad that is full of potential," said Suggitt. "We are excited to see where we are in comparison with the other 11 teams in Dubai. The squad has trained very well together and are excited to start the series."

The Eagles will play France, Netherlands and Australia on Nov. 30. Tournament fixtures can be found here:http://wsws.irb.com/destination/edition=1/fixturesresults.html

Following Dubai 7s, the series continues in the US (Feb 1-2), China (March 30-31), and Netherlands (May 17-18).

USA Women's Eagle Sevens | Dubai Sevens
Vanesha McGee (c)
Deven Owsiany
Katie Dowty
Jillion Potter
Bui Baravilala
Kelly Griffin
Nathalie Marchino
Emilie Bydwell
Christy Ringgenberg
Victoria Folayan
Lauren Doyle
Christina Mastrangelo