Nations Cup Dates Set

BOULDER, Colo. — In a month’s time, the Nations Cup will kick off between the Women’s Eagles, Canada, England, and South Africa. For the first time, the United States will be the host country of the round-robin tournament.

Each side will get three tests before the final, placement-deciding games.

The Eagles will return to Greeley, Colo., for the second time this year as the University of Northern Colorado holds the Nations Cup’s opening matches. Infinity Park in Glendale, Colo., will be the site for the finals.

“We are really excited to return to Greeley and [the University of Northern Colorado], because it is such a great venue,” said head coach Peter Steinberg. “To cap it off, though, we get another outstanding location with Infinity Park for the finals.”

To open the Nations Cup, the Eagles will be facing South Africa July 30 at 6 P.M. MT.

The two sides met in consecutive matches during the last Nations Cup. The 2011 series, which marks the last time the teams have faced each other, was split with one win apiece. South Africa defeated a young Eagles side during pool play, while the Eagles claimed the finals matchup to round out the tournament.

The Eagles placed third during the 2011 Nations Cup.

“South Africa will be a great test for us,” said Steinberg. “We are still working on combinations and their style of play is something that these pairings have not really experienced together, so it will be a challenge for us to adapt to them.”

Next on the slate is North American rival Canada August 3. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 P.M. MT.

Similar to the series with South Africa, Canada and the Eagles have each won one of the previous two meetings against each other. Canada won the 2011 Nations Cup meeting, as the Eagles defeated the rival in the 2010 World Cup.

“The Canada rivalry is a great one and I know it will be a tough, exciting game,” mentioned Steinberg.

To round out pool play, the Eagles will look for redemption of its 2011 Nations Cup match against England. Losing on the final play of the game, the Eagles will get their chance to make amends against the Nations Cup defending champions.

Kickoff will take place August 7 at 6 P.M. MT.

Finals matches will take place at Infinity Park August 10. The third-place match will kick-off at 4 P.M. MT and will be followed by the championship contest at 6:15 P.M. MT.

Canada has hosted the previous two Nations Cup tournaments.

England enters the 2013 Nations Cup as two-time defending tournament champions. England claimed the 2009 and 2011 titles, defeating Canada each time to earn the crown.

The Women’s Eagles August 10 matchup at Infinity Park will be the second time the side has played at the venue. In 2009, USA fell to Canada in the stadium during a friendly match, just prior to the year’s Nations Cup.

Broadcasting of the 2013 Nations Cup games has yet to be determined.


USA vs South Africa – 6 P.M. (MT) – July 30
USA vs Canada – 6 P.M. (MT) – August 3
USA vs England – 6 P.M. (MT) – August 7
USA vs TBD – TBD – August 10*

* game at Infinity Park – Glendale, Colo.