Eagles Select XVs named for second Americas Rugby Championship match against Canada

LANGFORD, British Columbia – Eagles Select XV Head Coach Mike Tolkin named the starting roster for the second match of the 2013 IRB Americas Rugby Championship against hosts Canada. Kickoff is scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 15, at 11:00 P.M. ET.

Captain Cam Dolan returns to the number eight position for the Eagles, who were defeated by Argentina Friday 9-27. Adam Siddall kicked three penalty goals in the loss.

Liam Murphy, Friday’s openside flanker, sustained a shoulder injury and will be replaced in Tuesday’s roster by Derek Asbun. John Cullen has been recalled by Tolkin and will join the Eagles in Langford on the bench Tuesday.

Phil Thiel returns as hooker to help the Eagles’ scrum, which held its own against Argentina. He will be joined by Nick Wallace and Chris Sullivan at loosehead and tighthead prop, respectively.

Siddall misses out Tuesday, with Joe Cowley filling in at fullback. Toby L’Estrange will remain at outside half and Shaun Davies will again take the scrumhalf position.

Titi Lamositele, Chris Saint and Maximo De Achaval will be amongst those on the bench Tuesday, hoping to make an appearance against arguably the Eagles’ biggest rivals.

Canada won its first game Friday against Uruguay 17-10 thanks to tries from Jack Fitzpatrick and Mike Scholz. Watch the Eagles and Canada in their fourth meeting of 2013 Tuesday on Rugby Canada’s Official YouTube Channel. Follow live match updates from @USARugby on Twitter from 11:00 P.M. ET.

Eagles Select XV | v. Canada
1. Nick Wallace
2. Phillip Thiel
3. Chris Sullivan
4. Tai Tuisamoa
5. Graham Harriman
6. Daniel Barrett
7. Derek Asbun
8. Cameron Dolan
9. Shaun Davies
10. Toby L'Estrange
11. Tim Maupin
12. Mile Pulu
13. Chris Chapman
14. Ed Mills
15. Joe Cowley

Eagles Select XV | Reserves
16. Cameron Falcon
17. Shawn Pittman
18. Titi Lamositele
19. John Cullen
20. Trevor Cassidy
21. Chris Saint
22. Peter Moala
23. Maximo De Achaval