L’Estrange to captain Eagles Select XVs against Uruguay

LANGFORD, British Columbia – The Eagles Select XVs will fight for second place at the 2013 IRB Americas Rugby Championship in Canada Saturday, Oct. 19, with their final match against Uruguay set to kick off at 6:00 P.M. ET from Westhills Stadium.

Cam Dolan and Phillip Thiel, who captained the Eagles in the previous matches against Argentina and Canada, respectively, return to the starting lineup, while Toby L’Estrange will wear the armband Saturday from the outside half position.

Shaun Davies will also make his third consecutive start of the tournament at scrumhalf. After missing the Eagles’ 30-10 win against Canada Tuesday night, Adam Siddall returns to the lineup, but this time at center. Siddall kicked three penalty goals at fullback in the Eagles’ 9-27 loss to Argentina in the tournament opener.

Tim Maupin will look to replicate his two-try performance from Tuesday on the wing with the number 14 jersey instead of his previous number 11. Joe Cowley will line up on the other wing. Cowley scored 15 points Tuesday with three penalty goals and three conversions at fullback.

John Cullen, who came on late in the second half in the match against Canada, earns a start at lock alongside Tai Tuisamoa. Maximo de Achaval will take on the fullback duties.

The match against Uruguay is a precursor to next year’s Rugby World Cup Qualifier against the South Americans. The two-leg series will be played in March with locations to be determined. With an aggregate win across the two matches, the Eagles would be placed in Pool B with South Africa, Samoa, Scotland and the Asia 1 qualifier. With an aggregate loss, the Eagles would be placed in the repechage tournament.

Watch the Eagles live on Rugby Canada’s YouTube Channel and follow live updates from @USARugby on Twitter.

Eagles Select XV | v. Uruguay
1. Nick Wallace
2. Phillip Thiel
3. Chris Sullivan
4. Tai Tuisamoa
5. John Cullen
6. Daniel Barrett
7. Derek Asbun
8. Cameron Dolan
9. Shaun Davies
10. Toby L'Estrange (C)
11. Joe Cowley
12. Adam Siddal
13. Chris Chapman
14. Tim Maupin
15. Maximo de Achaval

Eagles Select XV | Reserves
16. Cameron Falcon
17. Titi Lamositele
18. Shawn Pittman
19. Graham Harriman
20. Trevor Cassidy
21. Will Haydock
22. Chris Saint
23. Mile Pulu