Fourteen women’s clubs claim conference titles

BOULDER, Colo. – USA Rugby’s Women’s Division I and Division II National Championships will take place in the spring of 2014, yet several of the conferences around the country have already completed their league schedules and conference championships have been claimed.

In all, 14 schools have won conference championships. In recognition of their successful runs at their league playoffs, these clubs have been awarded automatic invitations to the National Championships.

Below is a list of the schools that have won conference championships:

Division I:

Harvard – Ivy
Kent State - MAC
Northern Iowa – Midwest
Norwich – Northeast

Division II:

Indiana University, Pennsylvania – Allegheny
University of Illinois, Chicago – Chicago
Geneseo – Empire
Hamilton – Excelsior
Colorado Mesa – Eastern Rockies
Grand Valley State – Great Lakes
IW-Stevens Point – Great Waters
Nebraska – Mid America
Shippensburg – Mid Atlantic RC
Winona State – Northern Lights
Bowdoin – New England Small College
Coast Guard – New England Wide
Stonehill – Rugby Northeast
Vassar – Tri-State

A few more conferences will conclude league seasons and playoffs before schools are on leave for winter break. The remaining conferences will play their competitive league schedules and produce an automatic-qualifying champion in the spring.

Once conference championships have concluded, the USA Rugby Women’s Collegiate Championship Committee will select at-large selections for the 2014 playoffs to round out the tournaments’ fields. Applications for an at-large selection can be found here.

The initial rounds for the 2014 National Championships will take place April 12-13. The Regional Rounds of 16 will be played April 25-27. These dates will culminate with two National Champions being crowned May 9-11.