Referees announce 2014 National Referee Pool

The USA Rugby Referees' Selection Committee has finalized the National Referee Pool for 2014. Previously, the group included three pools - N1, 2 and 3 - but referees are now combined into one pool. This will allow more flexibility for development.

Selection policies included a two-tier approach:

  1. top senior referees; and
  2. candidates that we believe can be developed to be top referees in the USA.

The pool includes USA’s only current iRB Referee, Leah Berard, who refereed the 2013 iRB Women’s Sevens World Cup Final and the iRB Women’s Nations Cup Final.

As with all athletes the selection process cannot include every referee and the referees that are no longer on the pool will still be appointed to National Championships, as will referees that are on the brink of making the pool. The Selection Committee will meet monthly to review performances.

USA Rugby Referees National Pool 2014 (in alphabetical order):
Phil Akroyd
Leah Berard
Ed Gardner
Scott Green
Chris Henshall
Josh Houston
Mike Kelly
Tim Luscombe
Tom Lyons
Miles McIvor
Gareth Morgan
Marc Nelson
George O'Neil
Aruna Ranaweera
Nick Ricono
Haylee Slaughter
Derek Summers
Kurt Weaver
Brian Zapp

USA Rugby Referees Selectors:
Ed Todd, Richard Every, Fred Thomas, Peter Watson, Kat Todd and Davey Ardrey.

USA Rugby Referees National Sevens Pool (in alphabetical order):
Leah Berard
Brad Cole
Brian Kelly
Mike Kelly
Haylee Slaughter
Derek Summers

USA Rugby Referees Sevens Selectors:
Paddy McNally, Peter Simpson, Josh Tameifuna, Ed Sorensen and Jerry McLemore.