USA Wheelchair Rugby announces 2014 team

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - USA Wheelchair Rugby announced the 2014 World Championship team today. The 16-man squad features10 athletes from the 2013 team, which won three Gold medals on three continents over the summer.

In addition to the 2013 team members, four players from the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Gold medal team along with two athletes from the 2014 Force development side were selected.

"We are very excited about this team,” said coach James Gumbert. "The mixture of current athletes along with returning veterans, sprinkled with developing talent, puts us in a great place moving forward.”

The USA side, which reclaimed the number-one seed in the world this year, will defend its Canada Cup and World Championship titles over the 2014 summer. The 2014 side will be holding residential and weekend camps over the next nine months at Lakeshore Foundation, the High Performance Management Organization for the USA Wheelchair Rugby team.

2014 USA Wheelchair Rugby Team
Chuck Aoki
CJ Brown
Jeromy Brown
Andy Cohn
Chad Cohn
Ernie Chun
Joe Delagrave
Lee Ferdette
Derrick Helton
Chuck Melton
Eric Newby
Jason Regier
Nick Springer
Chance Sumner
Josh Wheeler
Joel Wilmoth