IRB releases Atlanta 7s pools, match schedule

BOULDER, Colo. – The International Rugby Board announced the pools and match schedule for the second stop of the IRB Women’s Sevens World Series – Atlanta 7s – Wednesday.

Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University will host Atlanta 7s Feb. 15-16, where the Women’s Eagles Sevens will hope to best a second-place finish at last year’s U.S. leg of the Women’s Sevens World Series.

“We are very excited to hold the premier women’s sevens rugby event in North America at a fantastic facility like Fifth Third Bank Stadium,” Atlanta 7s Tournament Director and USA Rugby Events Director Jen Gray said. “The United States has proven to be a hotbed for women’s rugby in the past and we are set to prove it once again next month.”

The Eagles are in Pool A with Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens-winner Australia, Canada and China. They have not faced any of their pool opponents this season nor at the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens last June, where they placed third.

Purchase tickets to Atlanta 7s

See the full Atlanta 7s match schedule

Reigning Series champion New Zealand heads Pool B with England, Ireland and the Netherlands, which will be making its first appearance of the Series in Atlanta. England defeated Spain in the Plate Final in Dubai to move to fifth in the Series standings.

Russia will kick off Atlanta 7s against Japan in the first match of Pool C. In Dubai, Russia defeated Canada to finish third. Spain and Brazil will round out Pool C.

Australia and New Zealand met in the Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens Cup Final in November, with Australia scoring a late try to take the victory.

Joining the Eagles as core teams on the Series are Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain after each reached the quarterfinals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow, Russia.

Atlanta 7s | Pool A
Women's Eagles Sevens

Atlanta 7s | Pool B
New Zealand

Atlanta 7s | Pool C