IRB confirms pool draw for Tokyo Sevens

The IRB has confirmed the pool draw for round 6 of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the Tokyo Sevens in Japan's capital on 22-23 March 2014.

The draw was conducted just before the Cup final of the Wellington Sevens, won in impressive fashion by tournament hosts, New Zealand.

After their 21-0 Cup final win against closest Series rivals South Africa at the Westpac Stadium, New Zealand lead the HSBC Sevens World Series by two points from the Blitzbokke and also head Pool A in Tokyo, with matches against Canada, Wales and Portugal.

As Wellington runners-up, South Africa head Pool B at the Prince Chichibu Memorial Ground and have drawn matches against Argentina, Kenya and the hosts, Japan.

Fiji beat England to finish third in Wellington and head Pool C as a result with matches against Pacific rivals Samoa, France and USA.

England head Pool D and face matches against Australia, auld enemy Scotland and Spain.

Tokyo at a glance

Pool A: NZ, Canada, Wales, Portugal
Pool B: SA, Argentina, Kenya, Japan
Pool C: Fiji, Samoa, France, USA
Pool D: England, Australia, Scotland, Spain