Pools drawn for sevens showdown in Hong Kong

The pools have been drawn for round seven of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the Cathay Pacific / HSBC Hong Kong Sevens on 28-30 March 2014.


Hong Kong champions Fiji head to So Kon Po as the new Tokyo champions and therefore head Pool A with matches against Kenya, Wales and Sri Lanka, who compete in Hong Kong as the third-ranked team in Asia.

As the Tokyo runners-up, World Series leaders South Africa head Pool B and face matches against Tokyo Plate winners Australia, France and the current bottom-ranked of the 15 core teams, Spain.

Having beaten New Zealand to third place in the Japan tournament, England start at the top of Pool C in Hong Kong with matches against Canada, Argentina and Portugal.

New Zealand head Pool D with three tough games against a rejuvenated USA, Scotland and Samoa.

Pool A: Fiji, Kenya, Wales, Sri Lanka
Pool B: South Africa, Australia, France, Spain
Pool C: England, Canada, Argentina, Portugal
Pool D: New Zealand, United States, Scotland, Samoa

World Series core team qualifier

The draw had previously been made for the 12-team Series core team qualifier, to be played alongside the main competition in Hong Kong.

Two teams have won the right to compete from each of the IRB's six regions, including Tokyo hosts Japan and Hong Kong.

Pool E: Russia, Zimbabwe, Chile, Barbados
Pool F: Hong Kong, Italy, Tunisia, American Samoa
Pool G: Japan, Cook Islands, Uruguay, Trinidad & Tobago

Men's Eagles Sevens | Hong Kong Sevens
v Samoa - Friday, March 28 - 6:24 A.M. ET
v Scotland - Friday, March 28 - 11:34 P.M. ET
v New Zealand - Saturday, March 28 - 6:10 A.M. ET