USA Rugby announces 2014 Women’s Collegiate All-Americans

UPDATE: USA Rugby has named 52 women to the 2013-14 Women’s Collegiate All-American Second Team. See below for all All-American selections.

BOULDER, Colo. – The Women’s Collegiate All-Americans for the 2013-14 season have been selected by USA Rugby.

Following a two-match sweep of the Ontario Storm and Ontario Junior Storm in Canada, the WCAA touring side returned home where All-American Head Coach Martha Daines and her coaching staff evaluated the roster’s performance, as well as the many players submitted by collegiate coaches and conference commissioners around the country.

“The final selections for the All-American list were difficult decisions, as there are many players deserving recognition for their continuation on and off the field this season,” said Daines. “Players in the college game are more skilled than ever, and I’m sure we overlooked some outstanding players. My staff and I would like to thank the nominators for taking the time to identify players for the honor.”

The impressive list of student-athletes represent a diverse range of universities both large and small, while Norwich University and Penn State University, winners of this year’s USA Rugby College 7s National Championship and XVs National Championship, respectively, combine for nine selections.

Eleven players from the 2012-13 list have once again earned All-American honors, including capped Women’s Eagles Meya Bizer and Hope Rogers of Penn State, as well as Jess Davis of American International College.

With the All-American list finalized, Daines has had time to reflect on the successful tour of Canada.

“The Collegiate All-American team was a pleasure to coach in Canada,” recalled Daines. “Their general skill level and willingness to adapt speaks volumes not only of themselves, but also of their college coaches and teams.”

Each member of the 2013-14 Women’s Collegiate All-Americans will receive a certificate commemorating their achievement as student-athletes.

USA Rugby Women's Collegiate All-American First Team

Baylee Annis (Norwich University)
Hannah Bell (Norwich University)
Catherine Benson (Penn State University)
Elizabeth Cairns (Penn State University)
Jess Davis (American International College)
Maxine Fonua (Stanford University)
Aly Gleason (Stanford University)
Jordan Gray (Brigham Young University)
Christina Haney (University of Virginia)
Bailey Johnson (St. Cloud State University)
Jessica Lewis (University of California)
Dorothy Mittow (Princeton University)
Melissa Olman (Molloy College)
Erika Pedersen (United States Naval Academy)
Hope Rogers (Penn State University)
Rose Russell (University of California)
Jessica Sawadogo (Brown University)
Haley Schafer (American International College)
Madison Williams (Colorado State University)
Hannah Wyland (SUNY Geneseo)

Nicole Benedetti (West Chester University)
Rose Bernheim (Norwich University)
Meya Bizer (Penn State University)
Elena Cantorna (Penn State University)
Joya Clark (Norwich University)
Noorin Dorosti (UCLA)
Jade Enright (Colby College)
Megan Foster (CSU, Chico)
Lara Gartner (Georgia Institute of Technology)
Stephanie Goetz (James Madison University)
Natalie Kosko (Quinnipiac University)
Margaret Kwateng (Vassar College)
Shelby Lin (Harvard University)
Cassidy Meyers (American International College)
Saskia Morgan (Brown University)
Amy Naber (University of Arizona)
Anne Peterson (Washington State University)
Kate Roose (United States Military Academy)
Debbie Stenoien (University of Minnesota)
Naya Tapper (University of North Carolina)
Kristen Thomas (University of Central Florida)
Lyndsie White (Appalachian State University)

USA Rugby Women's Collegiate All-American Second Team

Jacklyn Acosta (University of Texas)
Zoe Aldrich (Hamilton College)
Addison Carvajal (Bowdoin College)
Chidinma Chukwueke (Georgia Tech University)
Meredith Conrad-Forest (Humboldt University)
Yejadai Dunn (Dartmouth College)
Giorgianna Flagello (University of Arizona)
Arielle Gantt (West Chester University)
Kelsey Harris (Pennsylvania State University)
Paris Hart (University of Oregon)
Lydia Hill (United States Air Force Academy)
Tanya Houston (University of North Carolina)
Genevieve Ireland (University of California)  
Amber Kutnink (Wayne State College)
Mindy McCracken (Colorado Mesa University)
Crystal Nye (University of Northern Iowa)
Ana Olander (Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Megan Pinson (American International College)
Kimberly Shepard (Lindenwood University)
Jessica Smith (Stanford University)
Meighan Stevens (Brigham Young University)
Nicole Strasko (Life University)
Karen Strunk (Indiana University)
Amelia Tarlton (Marist College)
Ciarra Waters-Mullen (Cal State Northridge)
Julianne Wilke (Wayne State College)

Shar'Quayla Baker (Florida International University)
BrieAnna Barto (Pennsylvania State University)
Sharyn Beodeker (Kutztown University)
Bianca Bradley-Rael (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
Xanni Brown (Harvard University)
Stephanie Browne (University of Florida)
Molly Carr (University of Wyoming)
Gillian Chance (Cal State Northridge)
Bianca Dalal (Pennsylvania State University)
Noorin Dorosti (University of California Los Angeles)
Erika Farias (University of Oregon)
Danielle Fournier (Wheaton College)
Ria Joseph (University of Arizona)
Kathryn Kargari (Cal State Northridge)
Elyssa McClain (University of Mary Washington)
Nicole McCulough (Brigham Young University)
Morgan McLaughlin (Indiana University of Pennsylvania)
Margaret Myles (Quinnipiac University)
Brittany O'Dell (Davenport University)
Madeline Pound (Indiana University)
Emily Raney (United States Air Force Academy)
Nicole Rodriguez (University of California San Diego)
Siera Snapp (United States Naval Academy)
Wendy Sun (University of Texas, Austin)
Michelle Teo (Stanford University)