National, Spring playoff venues for 2016 college postseason announced

LAFAYETTE, Colo. - The dates and locations for the 2016 USA Rugby Women's Division I and II Spring Championships, and Men's Division 1AA National Championship playoffs, have been announced, with six sites hosting 32 collegiate programs throughout the month of April.

The Women's DI Spring Championship Round of Eight, as well as the Women's DII Spring Championship Round of 16, kicks off the playoff season April 9-10 at five venues. The DII Spring Championship Semifinal and Final will be held at University of California, Davis, April 23-24, not far from Moraga, Calif., where the championships season will culminate at Saint Mary's College Saturday, May 7.

"Once again the best teams in the country are vying for the title of National Champion," USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez said. "We've been privileged to watch their efforts through the fall and spring seasons. It's reminiscent of the college basketball playoffs, where teams continue the quest for a championship through grueling league and playoff competitions. What unknown team can make its mark on the national stage? All it needs is the chance."

Life University and UC Davis will each host a regional Round of Eight in Women's DI play, and the undefeated winners of the weekend will advance to the Spring Championship Final to be played May 7. The Fall Champion, University of Connecticut, is unable to attend the championship weekend in northern California due to graduation ceremonies for a large number of seniors.

UC Davis will also host a portion of the Women's DII Round of 16 west regional, along with University of California, Riverside, the weekend of April 9-10. University of Mary Washington and senior club Atlanta Old White will each welcome four teams to their rugby grounds for the east regional, with the winners advancing to the Spring Championship at UC Davis April 23-24.

An exciting Men's D1AA Final in 2015 saw back-to-back defending champion University of Central Florida fall to a determined UC Davis side at Fifth Third Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State University. Teams situated in the west region will have to go through UC Davis one way or another to get to the title match, as the school in Davis is set to host a regional Round of Eight. Bowling Green State University, whose team was a National Championship semifinalist in 2014, will host the east regional.

The six venues have each received an ambulatory services grant totaling $1,000 from USA Rugby Trust for emergency medical technician and additional costs relating to player welfare. The grants are completely donor-funded via USA Rugby Trust, the philanthropic arm of USA Rugby. Visit the USA Rugby Trust webpage for more information on how to support the growth of rugby in the United States.

For more information on the collegiate playoff schedule, visit the USA Rugby College Championships page.

Women's Division I Spring Championship

Round of Eight - April 9-10

Life University (East), UC Davis (West)

Final - May 7

Saint Mary's College

Women's Division II Spring Championship

Round of 16 - April 9-10

Atlanta Old White (East), University of Mary Washington (East), UC Davis (West), UC Riverside (West)

Semifinals/Final - April 23-24

UC Davis

Men's Division 1AA

Round of Eight - April 23-24

Bowling Green State University (East), UC Davis (West)

Final - May 7

Saint Mary's College