World Rugby announces 2016-17 Sevens Series dates

LAFAYETTE, Colo. - World Rugby announced today the dates and locations of the 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, which will get underway in the United Arab Emirates less than four months after the medal ceremony at the Rio 2016 Olympic Summer Games.

Dubai will host the first of 10 legs Dec. 2-3, while the Series will again end at the home of rugby in England May 20-21 2017. The 10 host cities were part of one of the most successful Series to date in 2015-16, with more than 715,000 fans taking in the newest Olympic sport in person and over 6,000 broadcast hours sent to more than 100 territories.

Read more

"[The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series'] record-breaking blend of compelling, competitive action, global iconic destinations and festival atmosphere continues to prove a hit with fans, broadcasters, host cities and broadcasters alike," incoming World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said in a World Rugby release.

"We welcomed five new locations to the Series in 2015-16 and each were tremendous additions. We now look ahead to what promises to be an exciting 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series that will springboard the sport into a new Olympic Games cycle, reaching and inspiring new audiences worldwide."

The Men's Eagles Sevens' home leg of the Series will be held in Las Vegas March 3-5, 2017, the weekend prior to the second stop in North America, HSBC Canada Sevens.

The full schedule for the HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series will be announced shortly.