Identification Camp squad announced for AIG MCAAs

LAFAYETTE, Colo. - The AIG Men's Collegiate All-Americans coaching staff has called on 57 athletes to attend the Identification Camp at the Chula Vista Elite Athlete Training Center Jan. 14-16.

The first assembly of the under-23 national team in 2017 follows an aggressive outreach to collegiate and club coaches and players throughout the final quarter of 2016, resulting in 33 colleges represented in the Camp squad list. The robust input from the community will also allow Head Coach Gavin Hickie and staff to communicate with student-athletes unavailable for the Identification Camp for the purposes of future national team development.

Based on nominations, references from coaches, video submissions, and scouting reports and recommendations from the Eagle Eye Scouting Network, the Identification Camp list features several athletes who have previously stood out on the collegiate stage but have not represented a U.S. age-grade team.

"We would like to thank all coaches throughout the country who gave their time to nominate, recommend, and discuss players," Hickie said. "We received more than 300 nominations, which meant we had some tough calls to make, but this is a good problem to have. We recognize the challenge of identifying the country's top talent through the collegiate game, but we continue to cast the net wide and are encouraged to see that there are so many ambitious and talented student-athletes playing the game."

Several schools are represented by multiple student-athletes, including Arizona State University, Bethel College, Indiana University, and D1A National Champion Life University - with 2016 D1A MVP Harley Davidson and 2016 U20 Trophy/AIG Men's Junior All-American Duncan Van Schalkwyk (pictured) among them. Some athletes have also played senior club rugby during the collegiate offseason, and have raised their level of play in order to earn national team selection.

Following four training sessions on the weekend, the MCAA coaching staff will divide the 57-strong Camp roster into three match-day squads for scrimmages against the MJAAs, who are holding a Developmental Camp at the EATC this weekend, as well. The competition will give both age-grade teams meaningful match time to institute what the players have learned in Camp in addition to the benefits that come with players facing unfamiliar opponents.

"The All-American staff is very excited to work with this group of collegiate rugby players," Hickie said. "A domestic camp is a vital piece of our season in addition to our tour to Australia. We are getting to work - first-hand - with 57 more student-athletes this year than we did a year ago. Representing 33 different colleges, this will provide us with an accurate picture of where our domestic college skill levels currently stand."

Those not selected or unavailable for the Identification Camp will still be in contention for future MCAA selection, and are encouraged to gather film throughout their winter and spring competitions. Staff will continue to accept nominations for age-grade selection, and will monitor players leading up to this year's AIG Men's Collegiate All-Americans Tour to Queensland sponsored by Welldog. Nominations can be submitted via the All-American page on

AIG Men's Collegiate All-Americans | Identification Camp
Juan Aguirre Romero - Lindenwood University-Belleville
Christian Artuso - St. Bonaventure University
Dominique Bailey - Davenport University
Maximillian Berry - University of Wyoming
Roland Blackiston - California State University, Long Beach
Andrew Boatright - Davenport University
Trace Bolstad - Duluth Rugby
Matthew Brennan - Arizona State University
Jariel Brooks - Bethel College
Dylan Brown - United States Air Force Academy
Thomas Cheslek - Davenport University
Mitchell Cochell - United States Air Force Academy
Struan Coleman - Dartmouth College
Connor Cudeback - California Polytechnic State University
Harley Davidson - Life University
Oliver Engelhart - Dartmouth College
Nick Feakes - Lindenwood University
Jake Feury - Middlebury College
Zack Forro - Notre Dame College
Brady Gent - Davenport University
Toma Ghattas - Lindenwood University
Michael Gieselman - Michigan State University
Jake Glass - Kutztown University
Colton Grantham - University of Oklahoma
Patrick Hafenbridle - Bethel College
Terrence Hellander - University of Wyoming
Jacob Hidalgo - Indiana University
William Hock - Boston College
Ryan Iskowitz - University of Mary Washington
Matthew Jones - American International College
Thomas Kacor - Chicago Lions
Maciu Koroi - Life University
Jacob Lachina - United States Military Academy
Gavin Lally - Morris Rugby Football Club
Jeremy Lenaerts - Central Washington University
Isaiah Lopez - New England College
Connor Marsh - Indiana University
Hugh McAllister - Wheeling Jesuit University
Patrick McMahon - University of Notre Dame
Selby Niumataiwalu - Pennsylvania State University
Efe Ovie - Bethel College
Dominic Rufran - University of Wyoming
Michael Ruther - University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Michael Scarcella - Iona College
Tyler Sousley - Indiana University
Nathaniel Sylvia - California Polytechnic State University
Theodoros Terezis - Indiana University
Marcus Tupuola - Notre Dame College
Duncan Van Schalkwyk - Life University
Culver Van Vleck - Tulane University
Pio Vatuvei - University of Louisville
Khristoffer Walser - Arkansas State University
Alexander Walsh - Arizona State University
Larome White - University of Louisville
James Wolfer - Saint Joseph's University
Alexander Wormer - California Polytechnic State University
Zachary Young - Arkansas State University

AIG Men's Collegiate All-Americans | Coaching Staff
Gavin Hickie - Head Coach
Justin Hickey - Manager
Greg McWilliams - Assistant Coach
James Willocks - Assistant Coach
Tom Argy - Video Analyst
Ben Schuler - Team Trainer