Pools Announced For 2018 Club 7s National Championship

After the end of an exciting qualification season, 32 teams clash for the annual 7s title.

All 32 qualification spots at the 2018 USA Rugby Emirates Airline Men's & Women's Club 7s National Championship have been secured. Teams now have a clear understanding of who, exactly, lies between them and the Emil Signes Cup. The tournament will kicks offs at the Baker Athletics Complex at Columbia University in New York City, August 11-12.


Get tickets to the Championship


In the men's competition, there are plenty of familiar faces. Between the sixteen teams, there are over 120 combined appearances; and with the exception of Cleveland Academy is in its debut season, each team has made the national championship tournament before. Three contenders on the men's side will be the traditional powerhouses: Belmont Shore Rugby, Old Blue of New York and the Denver Barbarians. Belmont Shore has won three national championships, Old Blue two and the Barbarians have finished second eight times. After winning the top seed in the highly competitive Frontier Region and winning the Division II Men's National Championship in fifteens, the Barbarians will like their chances to claim a first 7s title. however, they'll face stiff opposition. Another team looking for their first 7s national title, is Dallas Rugby. Dallas has been in fine form this year securing both the number one seed from Red River and the Eastern Open Championship. They could be one of the favorites to lift silverware come the end of the weekend.

For the Women, there may not be as many familiar faces with four of the sixteen teams making their nationals debut. Granted, there is still an excess of quality rugby taking the pitch at Baker Complex. Included in the women's tournament are four of the top six teams from last year, and a combined six national championships. Those six national championships belong to the San Diego Surfers (last year's runners-up), Scion Sirens (fourth last year) American Rugby Pro (sixth last year) and Berkeley All Blues. Outside past champions, New York Rugby Club and Life West Gladiatrix are both coming out of impressive seasons. Each will be primed to take home their first 7s national championship. 

If you're unable to make it to out to New York, you will be able to soak in all the action via www.florugby.com 

Men's Pools 

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Denver Barbarians Washington Athletic  Old Blue of New York Belmont Shore Rugby*
Mystic River Rugby Metropolis Rugby Dallas Rugby  Bulldog Rugby
Atlanta Old White Santa Monica Dolphins Cleveland Academy Beltway Elite
Belmont Shore Gold* New Orleans Rugby  Kansas City Blues New York Athletic 

*Note: Belmont Shore Rugby split their rosters before the season started and played qualifiers as if they were separate clubs.

Women's Pools 

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Life West Gladiatrix  San Diego Surfers Washington Athletic American Rugby Pro Blue*
D.C. Furies  Chicago Lions New York Rugby Scion Sirens
Rocky Mountain Magic Berkeley All Blues Atlanta Harlequins Metropolis Rugby
Phoenix Rugby American Rugby Pro White* Northern Virginia Rugby  Boston Rugby

*Note: American Rugby Pro split their rosters before the season started and played qualifiers as if they were separate clubs.